top of page

CRYING IN H MART by Michelle Zauner

I would think of how my mother always used to tell me never to fall in love with someone who doesn't like kimchi. They'll always smell it on you, seeping through your pores. Her own way of saying, "You are what you eat." (Michelle Zauner)



I have to admit that I was a bit dissapointed. While reading Crying in H Mart, I had the impression that the author wrote this book for herself not for us; it was her personal diary. I had the impression that she regrets not appreciating her mother's words more.


The most heartbreaking part for me was when she said she didn't take learning Korean seriously and wanted to skip classes, but when her mother died, she couldn't communicate with her Korean family in the same way she could in English. She was unable to express her feelings. Sad was also that her mother was always sick in her memories (laying in bed), and I can relate to her here. I lost three precious people during pandemic, and it's hard to delete the image of them being sick from my head.


I would like to mention that I didn't "like" the food description in a book. I felt there was too much explanation about one dish throughout the pages. In general, the book is good; I learned some new recipes and felt Michelle's pain throughout the book; she was too young to loose her mother :(




Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page