top of page

I WANT TO DIE BUT I WANT TO EAT TTEOKBOKKI by Baek Sehee


Hello, lovely readers!


Every time I went to the bookstore, I saw this book. I was always hesitant because I read a lot of mixed reviews.


Not much happened, but that's excatly the point of the book. I liked it. I think 'I want to die but I want to eat tteokbokki' is a personal diary of the author, with which she can track her therapy sessions.


I wondered at first if the entire book was written as a dialogue between the author and a psychologist, and it was. A lot of people got confused by this and said the chapters were repeating themselves. It was fine for me personally. There were some repetitions, but I had the feeling that the author wanted to show that therapy doesn't help in one day and that people need quite a bit of time to turn their dark thoughts into more positive ones.


I really liked the chapters without dialogues in which author described her thinking and wrote that she's trying her best. There were different aspects in the book. Sometimes I completely understood the author and couldn't understand the anwsers psychologist, and sometimes I understood the psychologist and couldn't understand extreme reactions by the author.


***


As I already said, I consider the book to be the author's personal diary. I also think that everyone has been in a situation where they had 'dark thoughts', but can handle situations, and there are people like Baek Sehee, who need more time, maybe even years, some people sadly never get better. I know because that's how I lost my aunt.


Baek Sehee has been dealing with depression since she was a child and has been going to therapy for 10 years. So let's be kind to people, because we never know what kind of demons they are fighting inside, but never show from the outside.



***


I've read the book quickly, which means it was well written. I recommend it, but it all depends on how you'll like the book. I also heard that Namjoon from BTS suggested this book, so I'm sure many of you have already ready it. ;)



Thank you for reading!


4 views0 comments
bottom of page