top of page

THE SUMMER HOUSE by Keri Beevis / book review


It was time to read a thriller book because I had not read a single one after 'Verity'.

Welcome back to my blog, lovely readers!


Most likely, you're here because you enjoy reading thrillers and are curious about this book so you can read it, OR you're here because I told you to read my most recent post :D



***


'The Summer House' is a gripping page turner! The book was great since it frequently left me perplexed and made me think of different suspects. I was wondering the whole book: "Who the hell is the killer?" and made me constantly change my suspect list. The fact that the end surprised me proves that the book was excellent!


Twins Lana and Ollie have returned to Mead House after 17 years, following the death of their grandmother Kitty. She died unexpectedly, making it hard for twins to return to the house where not only their grandmother but also their sister Camille died. BUT she didn't die like that; she was murdered. The murderer was apprehended, but when Lana and Ollie returned to Mead House, everything changed.


They imprisoned the twins' best friend's (Xav) brother (Sebastian). The friend is completely distant from Lana and Ollie. One day, Lana found her sister's diary and with each page she turned, she discovered more and more secrets in the diary, which led to the fact that after all her friend's brother was not guilty.



***



As for the characters, they were very well described. I really liked Lana. Ollie's fiancee was getting on my nerves, along with the gardnerer.


My favorite was also the bond and affection that resurfaced (basically never vanished) between Lana and Xav. Their relationship and how they demonstrated their love for each other in the face of adversity inspired me. Their bond was EVERYTHING! The way they overcame challenges in this book is just WOW! I don't know why, but how the love is portrayed in thrillers is always better for me than in how is portrayed in romance books haha!


***


In the end, everything fell apart, and the murderer earned his fate. Excellent, dark book; I loved the plot and the people in it! I highly recommend!



Finally, I would also like to thank the author, Keri Beevis, who commented on my post and I will definitely read one of her books in the future! :)


Thank you so much for reading and I'll see you in my next post!


1 view0 comments
bottom of page