top of page

THE VISIT by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie


Hello, lovely readers and welcome back to my blog!



I've read another short story by Chimamanda. This book is part of the Black Stars collection. Based on the book cover, I expected it to be a sci-fi book. In my opinion, the cover could be a little better, given that it doesn't quite mach the content or the genre of the book.



***


I was surprised by the view of men and women in the book. Men were presented in the book as women in our world, which suprised me and was quite unusual to read, but interesting at the same time.


The flipped gender stance was something new and something that I've never read in a book. I needed some time to adapt to this strange turnaround.


As for the ending, it was good and much better that the ending of 'Zikora'. I think that the story was finished and that it would not be necessary to continue, which was not the case with 'Zikora', where I think, the author could have written an entire novella and not just a short story.


I've read on goodreads that this is the best story in the Black Stars collection, but I plan to read the others sometime in the future and see for myself. This story is interesting anf I suggest you to read it!




A passage from the book that stuck with me:

"You have to learn to talk about emotions, Eze!" his father would blurt out suddenly. "Not maschines and politics and gadges all the time. Otherwise you won't find a good wife. You think women care about all that?"


***


Thank you for reading and see you in my next post!



2 views0 comments
bottom of page