top of page

TOO SOON FOR ADIOS by Annette Chavez Maciase


Hello everyone and welcome back to another book review!


You know what makes me happy the most? When I choose a book completely at random and end up liking it so much that I can't stop talking about it for a whole week.


'Too Soon To Say Adios' is a book I have never heard of before. The author published it a month ago, so the book is completely fresh. As always, I found it by chance on Kindle, read the synopsis, which was all I needed, and bought it.


The book is more than excellent, and I don't want to exaggerate. There wasn't a person in the book that got on my nerves. I also like the author's way of writing and it enabled me to read the book faster. As a non-native English speaker, sometimes I don't like the way books are written and the use of words and phrases because it slows down my reading, but in this case it was the other way around. The writing style was excellent and the book was interesting. I think using the right words and connecting sentences into interesting chapters really makes the book more interesting and pulls the person in as a whole.



***


I haven't read a book by a Latin author, and the story of the Mexican family immediately drew me in. It was something completely new for me, and as a lover of Mexican food, I was fascinated by the recipes mentioned in the book and I was drooling at one in the morning in bed while reading.


The characters in the books are very lovable, and the relationship between Gabby and Diego is my favorite. The characters in the books are very lovable, and the relationship between Gabby and Diego is my favorite. I have already read many books about wonderful husbands and wonderful boys and crushes who always behave strangely and annoy me while reading, but this book is completely different. Diego is definitely my favorite character in the entire book. The relationship that Gabby and Diego had escalated from enemies to lovers and until the end I hoped that they would be together. I was hoping Gabby would confess to Diego that she loved him.


"I have just one question ... do you love me?"
"I can't Diego. I can't."
"Why not? Just say those words."
"I'm afraid."
"Then I'll say it. I love you, Gabby. I love you. I love you."

I have to admit that I also cried while reading the conversation between Raul and Gabby (when they were looking through old pictures in boxes). I also have to admit that Martha was much more lovely to me than Lily, who was somehow hiding some things from Gabby's mother. But I certainly imagined Lily all the time as a lady who was always sulking and arguing with Martha, who was more calm.



***


Coming back to the author, I would like to mention that the author of this book communicated with me the most out of any author of the books I have read, and for that I am grateful to her.




I will end my review with this. I could talk endlessly about this book, but I won't give it all away, buy it and you'll see what I'm talking about. All of a sudden you will want to visit New Mexico and see all the sights there and eat good food.



***


Thank you for reading and see you in my next book review!


5 views0 comments
bottom of page